Follow

Adding or Removing Users and Resetting Passwords

Managing users is a very important administrative responsibility.  User maintenance includes adding, removing and restricting access to E-Closing.  It is critical to remember that E-Closing is cloud-based, meaning that users can access the system from any computer, tablet or phone with an internet connection.  This article will go over the basics of adding and removing users in E-Closing.

Manage Users

To access Manage Users.  From the Whiteboard go to Back Office - Misc. Menu - Manage Users. Once you are in the Manage Users you will see a list of all of your company users, sorted alphabetically by first name. (I know it's a strange way to sort...)

Removing Users

To remove a user simply click on the radio button, (the small circle to the left of the name), for the user record you would like to delete.  This will open the User Management screen for that user.  If you scroll to the very bottom of the screen you will see a button labeled "Delete User".  Click on this button and the screen will refresh, scroll back down to the bottom and the button will now be labeled "Yes - Delete".  We use this double check method in the event that you inadvertently clicked delete when you meant to hit update.  That user will not be removed from the user list and will no longer have access to your E-Closing Account.

Resetting Passwords

To reset a password click on the radio button, (the small circle to the left of the name), for the user you would like to reset a password for.  This will open the User Management screen for that user.  If you scroll to the very bottom of the screen you will see a button labeled "Reset Password Now".  If there is a valid email address entered for the user, when you click on this button it will email the user their new one-time password.  Otherwise, the one-time password will be displayed on the screen and you will have to relay this to the user.  The user will now be able to login with the new password and on initial login change their password.

Adding Users

To add a user, click on the radio button, (the small circle to the left of the name), next to the first option labeled "Add a New user".  This will open the User Management screen for a new user. 

First, in thee User Name field type the desired user name for the user you are adding, ie first initial and last name.  When you tab out of this field the screen will refresh and let you know if the desired username is available or if you will have to select a different username.

Next, In the Name field type in the users full name. 

If you are creating a user and would like to copy all of the security settings from an existing user in your company, you can enter the username for the users security settings you would like to copy in the Copy from User field.  When you tab out of this field the screen will refresh and you will see the new username and initial password for that user. 

You'll want to enter a valid email address for the user in the Email field.  This will allow the user to email secured documents from the document management screen and will also email the user their new username and password. 

ADDITIONAL USER SETTINGS

Ignore Readonly - We typically set this field to "Yes" which will allow the user to make changes to files after checks have been printed.

Force Password Change - This should default to "Yes" which will allow the user to change their password the first time they log in.

Allow Word Output - This will allow the user to generate documents in Word format and is set to "Yes" by default.

Table Highlight 1 and Table Highlight 2 - These are the contrasting file colors on the whiteboard.  We set new users to the default colors of "Pale Dull Azure" and "White", respectively.  You can choose any alternating colors you would like.

User's Rolodex Entry 1, 2, 3 - This is how you would tie a username to a rolodex entry.  IE., a processors username to their processor record in the Rolodex.  If the individuals name is not listed in this drop-down box you will need to add them to the Rolodex under This company, or leave it blank.

Can this user change file summary notes - This settings allows the user to edit or delete user notes entered on the file summary screen.

Restrict Login to one of the following IP Addresses - This is a new security setting which allows you to restrict a users access to E-Closing by an IP or range of IP Addresses.

Restrict Login by Day - This is a new security setting which allows you to restrict a users access to E-Closing by a range of dates.

Security Settings - The security settings allow you to give Full, Read-Only or No access to any of the screens within E-Closing.

Once all of the users settings are set you can click the Update User button at the bottom of the screen and your new user will be created.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.